Restoring your TV Server to its factory database state

For a variety of reasons you may wish to reset your TV Server database to its original factory state. This will remove all tuned channel information and recording rules, but will not delete any completed recordings.

To backup your server's current configuration and then reset it, follow the steps outlined below:

  1. Connect to the server's console interface.
  2. From the main menu, choose Maintenance (5), Backup/Restore (3), then Backup Database (1) and press Y to initiate the backup. This will stop the server running, create a backup of your current configuration, and then restart it.
  3. From the Backup/Restore menu, now choose Restore Database (2)
  4. You will be presented with a list of available database backups in the form of a list. The topmost entry should read:
  5. etvd.db3.dist

    This refers to the database that was distributed with your server when it was assembled at the factory. Select that entry to restore it.

Once the restore has completed, you will need to browse to the web admin interface, retune the server and recreate any recording rules that will have been lost as part of the process.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us